We use technologies, such as cookies, to customise content and advertising, to provide social media features and to analyse traffic to the site. We also share information about your use of our site with our chosen social media, advertising and analytics partners. Read our cookie policy for more information.

Who We Are

The MU is a globally-respected organisation which represents over 32,000 musicians working right across the music industry.

As well as negotiating on behalf of musicians with all the major employers in the music industry; we provide advice, services and assistance tailored to each individual member.

We are behind every musician – whether you are full time, part time, self-employed or a student musician.

MU HQ (National Office)


General Secretary
Horace Trubridge

Deputy General Secretary
Naomi Pohl

Assistant General Secretary
Phil Kear

Assistant Secretary
David Ashley

Communications and Government Relations

Head of Communications & Government Relations
Isabelle Gutierrez

PR & Marketing Official
Keith Ames

Campaigns & Social Media Official
Maddy Radcliff

Online Communications Officer
Autumn Sharkey

Digital Development Officer
Katerina Baranova


In House Solicitor
Dawn Rodger


Equality, Diversity and Inclusion Official
John Shortell

Education and Training

National Organiser, Education & Training
Diane Widdison

Music Education Official
David Barnard

Music Education Official
Chris Walters

Education and Equalities Officer
Rose Delcour-Min

Live Performance

National Organiser, Live Performance
Dave Webster

Live Performance Official
Kelly Wood

Recording and Broadcasting

National Organiser, Recording & Broadcasting
Geoff Ellerby

Recording & Broadcasting Official
Michael Sweeney

Royalties Official
Annie Turner

Sessions Official
Sam Jordan


National Organiser, Orchestras
Jo Laverty

Orchestras Official
Morris Stemp