skip to main content

MPs Join Musicians and Music Creators at the Fix Streaming Photocall in Parliament Square

Thank you to all the MPs who attended a photocall in support of Kevin Brennan MP’s Private Members’ Bill to fix streaming.

Published: 26 November 2021 | 4:46 PM
Energetic group of demonstraitors hold instruments in Parliament Square, London.
The Bill aims to fix streaming and ensure songwriters, composers, performers and featured artists are fairly paid for their work. Photo credit: Jonathan Stewart

MPs from all four nations of the UK took part in the photocall to mark the release of the text of the Brennan Bill. The Bill aims to fix streaming and ensure songwriters, composers, performers and featured artists are fairly paid for their work.

MPs in attendance include Alison McGovern, Thangam Debbonaire, Kerry McCarthy, Julian Knight, David Warburton, Esther McVey, Patrick Grady, and Colum Eastwood. A full list of MPs is available at the end of this article.

Email your MP to fix streaming

It’s crucial that as many MPs as possible vote for the Brennan Bill on Friday 3 December.

Email your MP now

Your email could be the one to make the difference, and every MP’s vote is a step closer to fixing streaming once and for all.

MPs show their support on social media

MPs also expressed their support on social media, with many tweeting and posting on Instagram:


A post shared by Jo Stevens MP (@jostevensmp)

The MU thanks the following MPs for their attendance:

  • Chair of the DCMS Select Committee Julian Knight (Conservative, Solihull)
  • Shadow Secretary of State for DCMS, Jo Stevens (Labour, Cardiff Central)
  • Alex Sobel (Labour, Leeds North West)
  • Alex Davies-Jones (Labour, Pontypridd)
  • Alison McGovern (Labour, Wirral South)
  • Barbara Keeley (Labour, Worsley and Eccles South)
  • Barry Gardiner (Labour, Brent North)
  • Catherine McKinnell (Labour, Newcastle upon Tyne North)
  • Chris Elmore (Labour, Ogmore)
  • Christina Rees (Labour, Neath)
  • Clive Efford (Labour, Eltham)
  • Colum Eastwood (Social Democratic & Labour Party, Foyle)
  • Damian Green (Conservative, Ashford)
  • David Warburton (Conservative, Somerton and Frome)
  • Esther McVey (Conservative, Tatton)
  • Fleur Anderson (Labour, Putney, Roehampton and Southfields)
  • Geraint Davies (Labour, Swansea West)
  • Graham Stuart (Conservative, Beverley and Holderness)
  • Greg Smith (Conservative, Buckingham)
  • Ian Byrne (Labour, Liverpool West Derby)
  • Jack Dromey (Labour, Birmingham Erdington)
  • Jessica Morden (Labour, Newport East)
  • Jonathan Djanogly (Conservative, Huntingdon)
  • Julie Elliott (Labour, Sunderland Central)
  • Karin Smyth (Labour, Bristol South)
  • Kate Osborne (Labour, Jarrow)
  • Kerry McCarthy (Labour, Bristol East)
  • Mark Tami (Labour, Alyn and Deeside)
  • Mike Amesbury (Labour, Weaver Vale)
  • Mike Kane (Labour, Wythenshawe and Sale East)
  • Patrick Grady (Scottish National Party, Glasgow North)
  • Pauline Latham (Conservative, Mid Derbyshire)
  • Ruth Jones (Labour, Newport West)
  • Sarah Champion (Labour, Rotheram)
  • Stephanie Peacock (Labour, Barnsley East)
  • Steve Brine (Conservative, Winchester)
  • Thangam Debbonaire (Labour, Bristol West)
  • Toby Perkins (Labour, Chesterfield)
  • Tonia Antoniazzi (Labour, Gowel)
  • Valerie Vaz (Labour, Walsall South)
  • Vicky Foxcroft (Labour, Lewisham Deptford)

Ask your MP to vote for the Brennan Bill to fix streaming on Friday 3 December, and find out more about the campaign in the MU’s Fix Streaming hub.

Get MU membership today

From gig players to part-time teachers and professional instrumentalists, MU members can access specialist insurance for musicians. This includes accident cover, health schemes, travel insurance and car insurance add-ons through the Musicians’ Union.

Explore our member services

  • Get public liability insurance for musicians
  • Access expert legal support
  • Be represented in your profession
  • Access expert career advice, resources, and training events
  • Connect, network, and get to know the community of musicians

Learn about all membership benefits

Get MU membership today

Continue reading