skip to main content

MPs & Peers: Please Support Musicians Working in the EU

The Musicians’ Union (MU) is calling on MPs to support musicians working in the EU – share the pledge! #WorkingInTheEU

Published: 02 June 2017 | 12:00 AM Updated: 24 January 2023 | 10:52 AM

The Musicians’ Union (MU) and its members are asking MPs and Peers from all parties to sign up to the following pledge to protect performers’ careers.

Most professional musicians and performers rely on touring and travelling for their careers and gigs are often organised at short notice.

As some performers can be working in several different European countries over the course of a few days, the possible introduction of work permissions and/or visas for British musicians touring and working in Europe could be extremely detrimental.

Our preferred option would be reciprocal free movement for musicians and performers across the EU's 27 member states, in the form of an exemption from visa rules for performers. 


I pledge to support professional musicians and performers in my constituency, and to do all that I can to ensure they can continue to be able to travel easily across Europe post-Brexit for time-limited activities such as touring and performing with minimum administrative burdens.

How to sign the pledge

If you are an MP or Peer who would like to sign the pledge, please email Isabelle Gutierrez (MU Head of Government Relations & Public Affairs) at

MPs who have already signed the pledge

Heidi Alexander
Rosena Allin-Khan
Mike Amesbury
Adrian Bailey
Hilary Benn
Paul Blomfield
Tracy Brabin
Kevin Brennan
Deirdre Brock
Fiona Bruce
Vince Cable
Bambos Charalambous
Ann Coffey
Rosie Cooper
Stella Creasy
John Cryer
Jim Cunningham
Wayne David
Thangam Debbonaire
Stephen Doughty
David Drew
Susan Elan Jones
Julie Elliott
Louise Ellman
Paul Farrelly
Vicky Foxcroft
Paul Flynn
Gill Furniss
Mike Gapes
Patricia Gibson
Preet Kaur Gill
Roger Godsiff
Patrick Grady
Kate Green
John Grogan
Louise Haigh
David Hanson
Fabian Hamilton
Harriet Harman
Drew Hendry
George Howarth
Rupa Huq
Christine Jardine
Graham Jones
Mike Kane
Peter Kyle
Stephen Lloyd
Shabana Mahmood
Rachael Maskell
Stephen McCabe
Kerry McCarthy
Stuart McDonald
Alison McGovern
Catherine McKinnell
Anna McMorrin
Carol Monaghan
Stephen Morgan
Brendan O’Hara
Jared O'Mara
Teresa Pearce
Toby Perkins
Jess Phillips
Steve Pound
Ellie Reeves
Liz Saville Roberts
Geoffrey Robinson
Lloyd Russell-Moyle
Jim Shannon
Tommy Sheppard
Andy Slaughter
Angela Smith
Cat Smith
Eleanor Smith
Jeff Smith
Owen Smith
Karin Smyth
Alex Sobel
John Spellar
Jo Stevens
Jo Swinson
Alison Thewliss
Chuka Umunna
Valerie Vaz
Thelma Walker
Tom Watson
Matt Western
Hywel Williams
Roberta Blackman-Woods
Daniel Zeichner

MEPs who have already signed the pledge

Theresa Griffin
Wajid Khan
Julie Ward

Peers who have already signed the pledge

Baroness Bakewell
Baroness Bonham Carter
Earl of Clancarty
Lord Clement Jones
Baroness Corston
Lord Collins
Lord Dholakia
Baroness Donaghy
Lord Filkin
Baroness Gould
Lord Hughes of Woodside
Lord Judd
Baroness Kennedy
Lord Kennedy of Southwark
Lord Lipsey
Baroness Lister
Baroness Massey of Darwen
Baroness Morris
Baroness Ramsay
Baroness Royall
Baroness Thornton
Lord Triesman
Lord Watts
Lord Wood of Anfield

Get MU membership today

From gig players to part-time teachers and professional instrumentalists, MU members can access specialist insurance for musicians. This includes accident cover, health schemes, travel insurance and car insurance add-ons through the Musicians’ Union.

Explore our member services

  • Get public liability insurance for musicians
  • Access expert legal support
  • Be represented in your profession
  • Access expert career advice, resources, and training events
  • Connect, network, and get to know the community of musicians

Learn about all membership benefits

Get MU membership today

Continue reading